Marinated Cannellini Beans

This last week, we have been running around like it’s a madhouse. Friends coming into town, Pride, work, going to a grad party and a concert over the span of four days can really take a toll on you. In case you missed it – I am exhausted. But please don’t think that I didn’t enjoy every minute of it. I really did! Running all over the place, dealing with crowds, and being obligated to day drink is a lot, but I gladly welcomed it.

Now that the weekend is over…. my poor body has been through it and is feeling a bit of the damage. I have been C R A V I N G a salad – or at the very least, something with healthy, fresh ingredients.

The thing that I really love about this recipe, is that it reminds me of some of my favorite little deli sides. Simple, fresh, and insanely easy to throw together. With just a handful of pantry and produce staples, this little gem of a side dish can literally be whipped together on the fly. It is the perfect thing to make when you are headed to a party, barbeque or potluck, and completely forget about it until 10 minutes before you need to be there. Trust me – been there, done that.

It isn’t anything more than throwing the ingredients in a bowl and mixing it. While it can be made up to five days ahead, if you’re like me… throw it in some tupperware, give it a good shake, and let the flavors all mesh together during the 20-minute car ride to the shindig that you’re already late to. It’s perfect for any occasion.

Originally, the plan was to make this with garbanzo beans like I’ve done in the past. But life didn’t work out that way. I was getting out all of my ingredients and measuring them out and chopping the veggies, and then I reached into the cupboard for the garbanzos…. and I was all out! Normally this wouldn’t really be any kind of an issue since I live right between a Trader Joe’s and a Whole Foods, but I had already been to the store TWICE today. I was feeling a bit defeated, and decided that I would try it out with some good ol’ cannellini beans instead. To my pleasant surprise, it was just about as perfect as with the garbanzos!

Marinated Cannellini Beans

  • 2 15oz cans cannellini, great northern, or garbanzo beans; rinsed and drained
  • 2/3 c. chopped mini heirloom tomatoes
  • 2/3 c. crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/2 c. chopped fresh basil
  • 1 shallot, finely diced
  • 1/2 c. chopped marinated artichoke hearts
  • 1/3 c. good olive oil, such as Olio Santo
  • 1/4 c. red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. flake sea salt, such as Maldon
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper or aleppo pepper flakes
  1. Place beans, tomatoes, feta, basil, and artichoke hearts into a large mixing or serving bowl.
  2. whisk together olive oil, red wine vinegar, oregano, salt, pepper and pepper flakes in a small bowl.
  3. Pour dressing mixture over bean mixture, stir to combine thoroughly, and cover bowl with plastic wrap. Place in the fridge for at least 30 minutes. The longer it marinates, the more the flavors will mingle and the more pronounced they’ll become.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.