Rainier Cherry Mojitos

Everyone loves summer. The days are longer, the nights are warmer, and the farmers market is in full swing. Andy and I went last weekend, and I was ecstatic that cherries were in season – rainier cherries to be specific! There’s just something about the little white and pink fruit that I absolutely adore, while not being a fan of really any other kind of cherry. I don’t know if I was traumatized by too much cherry flavored medicine when I was younger or not… but either way, I really can’t stand them.

Rainier cherries don’t have such a strong flavor as their cousins, but they get the job done just the same. Lightly sweet, a little bit tart, and pretty to boot, these little guys make an excellent addition to cocktails. (Hey mojitos, I’m lookin’ at you!)

Now, I suspect that pretty much any fruit would be a welcome addition to a mojito, but there is something so refreshing about rainier cherries. It could be that they’re delicate flavor pairs really well with the mint and lime, or that the colors pop so well in the glass that you can’t help but want to make an entire pitcher of the stuff… but whatever it is, they are perfect for mojitos.

Rainier Cherry Mojitos

  • 8 rainier cherries, pitted
  • Small handful of fresh mint
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • 1 tsp cane or turbinado sugar
  • 1 1/2oz white rum
  • Club soda
  1. In a mixing glass, combine cherries, mint, lime and sugar, and muddle thoroughly. Add rum to the mixture and stir to incorporate.
  2. Fill a collins or highball glass with ice, and pour cherry mixture on top.
  3. Top with club soda and give a quick stir.
  4. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.